PDA

View Full Version : evaporator pan

bmiller
03-01-2011, 12:54 PM
Hello everyone i'm new to f0rum,and have a quick question . i was offered a diamond plated tool box that goes on back of a pickup ,would that be safe to use for a evaporator pan its actually a little too big for me as i don't have that sap to boil down at a time ,but was wondering if it would work. thanks

Haynes Forest Products
03-01-2011, 01:37 PM
Your kidding right. Is it food grade..................I had to ask. Why would you want to make food it that? Maybe you should give it a few more years and save up for a Pora Poti to make your steamhood

bmiller
03-01-2011, 05:06 PM
thank you hfp for your reply.it was just a simple question i asked,''would it be safe''.I hope everyone that asks a question on here doesn't get such a D@@kh@#d answer from YOU. have a nice day.

Mac_Muz
03-01-2011, 07:02 PM
If there isn't plating where sap is in contact it might be safe. If there is chrome, grease, oils, and the kinds of things that get on tool boxes it might not be a good idea.

What is the plan? Set it up as clean as you can make it, one cinder blocks, and build a fire under it?

Most pans including home made pans have sides only 6 to 8 inches high. No one really fills them that deep on purpose.

If this tool box is like the rest i see, it's aluminum, and not steel, and is probably coated with at least some clear coat (not good). The too high sides, will act something like sails in the wind and can chill a mad boil to nil on a breeze.

Assuming you are not selling any, and can assume all risks, you can probably do it.

Lots of guys get stainless steel pans used cheap from restaurant sales and auctions.

Other home guys that don't sell use common sheet steel. But make it clean.

If you can get sheet copper cheap :rolleyes: somewhere that is the ages old pan metal, the pros used before there was any stainless steel.

collinsmapleman2012
03-01-2011, 07:10 PM