PDA

View Full Version : Lookin' for some help

Lance
11-30-2005, 01:50 AM
Howdy, All - I've been helping a buddy sugar for a couple of years and have got the bug bad. Try to make a long story short: buddy's one of the nicest guys you'd ever want to meet but he's got a full-time job and a dozen other irons in the fire. Bottom line is that sugaring stuff always seems to end up a day late and a dollar short. We've got about 400 taps, 200 on tubing (gravity), 200 on buckets. We wanta go with vacuum this year and switch the buckets to vacuum and run another 100 or so taps. We've got a 2x6 D&G woodfired evaporator with a hood and a preheater (which I don't think is performing anywhere near what it should be).

I've not seen anyone else's setup (since I was a kid, anyway) and would like to tap (yeah, I know) some of the experience and knowledge I've seen on this board. If there's anyone within a couple of hours drive of Central Vermont (negotiable) that's willing to help educate a greenhorn and share their expertise, I'd sure appreciate a chance to have a look at your rigs.

A P.S. to Brandon: has your little one arrived yet? Got a little concerned reading your posts of last spring about the wife's health. Hope all is well with you and yours!

Lance

GregMVT
11-30-2005, 07:18 AM
Hi Lance Good to see another Vermonter. Not sure what you consider centratl Vt. I am in Poultney, a little west of Rutland. If you're interested I'd be more than happy to show you. I've only been tapping for a couple of years so still learning too. Let me know and I'll send you directions and phone #

Greg

sweetwoodmaple
11-30-2005, 07:28 AM
Lance - welcome to Maple Trader.

I just sold my 2x6 D&G, which I ran for three years. It was a 7" drop flue model. With a wood saver, but not preheater or hood, I was getting 35-40 gph. I'm sure there are lots of guys who can help up in your neck of the woods.

Take Care - Brian

mapleman3
11-30-2005, 01:03 PM