PDA

View Full Version : New To The Site

Waterbird17
02-24-2011, 09:47 AM
Hi All,

I am still figuring things out on here so please forgive me if i am doing anything worng

I am from NJ, I've been tapping for a few years now. We are in full production right now, I have 25+ taps out and I am pulling lat least 10 gallons a day. I have 150 gallons of storage and i have been cooking in a turkey frier. Its not that efficent but it gets the job done i guess.

I have finished a full gallon of syrup already this season.

I have a few questions, what the deal with sap spoliage??? how long will fresh sap keep, how can i tell if its spoiled?

Also, what i have been cooking has been getting a little merky, its getting a little color but a little merky.

Should I look into a hobby evaporator? Is anybody selling one?

Thanks for your help guys.

Haynes Forest Products
02-24-2011, 10:29 AM
Welcome Jump in the waters fine:)

1 Keep sap as cold as possible
2 if it stinks its spoiling
3 Merkey is OK its how it looks until it gets darker and merky then you filter and eat
4 Its time to make the jump up Spend the money and get the hobby unit. Its like that nose job you always wanted:o You will be walking around in circles saying WHY DIDNT I DO THIS SOONER. Honey come look its real cool. Go get Fred I want to show him my cooker hey everyone come LOOK:D

Waterbird17
02-24-2011, 12:46 PM
Thanks for the info, Where can i get an afforadiable cooker, I am not looking to spend a grand on a cooker, is there a large used market?

Also, how do those evaporators work? are they hard to maintain? can I fire it up in the morning and let it go all day?

adk1
02-24-2011, 01:04 PM
Wow, you need Syrup 101..Do yourself a favor and buy the NA Maple PRoducers Manual. Read it from cover to cover. It is the bible of syrup making. Also buy yourself the Backyard Sugarin book. It is a great book for any backyarder to have or someone who wants to get into sugarin on the cheap!

Haynes Forest Products