PDA

View Full Version : Steamaway

Bob Shields
11-16-2005, 10:06 PM
I have been making maple syrup for about 12 years. I started with a barrel evaporator and now have a 2.5 x8 with a preheater hood. I purchased the 2.5 x 8 eight years ago. It was set up for fuel oil ( I used wood befor) and I really liked the constant cooking temp./ not having to collect fire wood/ & easy starting & stopping of the boiling operation.
Fuel oil was $.60 the first couple of years. I don't have to tell anyone who uses oil that is not true the last several years. I have 550 taps & don't plan on many more ( just an expensive hobbie).
My Sugar House is cold and can not justify a RO because of expense.
I don't read any info on steamaways on any of the forum disscussions.
Does any body out there use a steamaway and could this be a plan of attack. Thanks for any responce.

Maple Flats
11-17-2005, 04:54 AM
welcome aboard Bob Shields. Your first post is a good one. I'll just sit back and look for answers because I also want to find out about Steam aways. I did talk to my local leader dealer who has added one as of 2 seasons ago and they say the approx. 75% increase in rate is about right with no more fuel but then they also sell them. Would like to hear from users who don't stand to profit from their reccommendation of one. Pro's and cons is what I want from truly objective users.

mountainvan
11-17-2005, 06:51 AM
a friend of mine has a piggyback unit on his rig, oil fired 5by 14( things bigger than my truck). he's had one for a long time and likes it very much. concentrates sap up to 4.5%, lots of hot water, can't remember the rest. down side is blower is very loud!! some guys put them outside, my friend has his in a insulated attic, still loud. he did say last year that if oil continues up he may switch back to wood and an ro!!

WESTVIRGINIAMAPLER
11-17-2005, 07:08 AM