PDA

View Full Version : So, I think I screwed up tapping, any ideas?

sugaringcrazy
02-23-2011, 04:49 PM
first of all it's my first year and I don't know how badly I screwed up. Today I was tapping and it was quite cold out, almost 32 by the afternoon, and it was after a below zero night. But, on the 26th tap (out of 50), a little sap was flowing, and when I put in the tap it was still trickling, but not through the tap. I stopped tapping immediately, and went to inspect some of my other taps. Only one tap showed any sign of running and that too, was not through the tap. I think part of my problem is I am using a hand auger, and I am worried that it wasn't always going in straight, and the hole ended up being too big. My other concern after visiting some other threads on this web site, are that I was tapping them in too far and cracking the wood because it was too cold. So, now I have 26 buckets in, and I was hoping to finish tomorrow. I don't know if the other taps are leaking or not, but I am scared to continue not knowing whether my operation is screwed. So, can I do anything about the taps that are already in. My guess is some of them will be fine and others will leak. It's probably not ok to redrill, but what do I do. Yeah, I'm a little stressed.

Ausable
02-23-2011, 05:20 PM
Howdy -- Don't be so hard on Yourself. Using a Brace n Bit is a bit of a challenge. Just make sure your bit is sharp and hold it as steady as possible. Just set your spile so that it is in snug enough to hold a full bucket without pulling out. So - some of the sap runs down the tree - not the end of the world - all part of learning. Wait till You scorch your first pan - now that is upsetting. Hey -- have fun and keep tapping - You will do just fine ----- Mike

highlandcattle
02-23-2011, 05:22 PM
Did you use a bit the right size? It needs to fit the spiel. Pounding too hard will not help either. Just a thought.

Flat47
02-23-2011, 06:03 PM