PDA

View Full Version : Odd-ball idea for filtering

NJG
02-22-2011, 09:51 PM
We just finished our annual family sausage making weekend, and while stuffing snack sticks, and it made me wonder.....has anyone ever tried to modify a sausage stuffer for filtering syrup?

I know, it's an odd-ball idea. I have very little experience so far, making about 1.5 gallons the last two years, so don't be too hard on me for asking. I really don't grasp the concept of using a filter press, but began to wonder of it would be easier/cheaper to modify a sausage stuffer to force syrup through a filter than it would be to buy a filter press.

I really have no idea how much pressure it would take to "force" suryp though a filter, or what type of filter can take the pressure without loosing it's integrity. Can a stuffer be connected to a press bank? Could the can of a stuffer be modified to accept a press bank or is the surface area too small? Could a gravity filter handle syrup being forced though it? With all the knowledge on this forum, I'm guessing somebody has already answered this question already, but I haven't been able to find it.

And by the way, this is the greatest source of do-it-yourselfer's and knowledge that guy could ask for. We can't thank you enough!!!

Nick

3rdgen.maple
02-22-2011, 09:56 PM
I think you need to put in more taps to occupy your time a little more. :D

NJG
02-22-2011, 10:31 PM
Good point 3rdgen. I think this fever is starting to burn me up a little.:o

Monster Maples
02-22-2011, 10:49 PM
I don't know how odd this is, but in my mind it is better than using a diaper that was suggested a while back. At least this is intended for food purposes. I don't think it would work though.

3rdgen.maple
02-22-2011, 10:55 PM
I don't know how odd this is, but in my mind it is better than using a diaper that was suggested a while back. At least this is intended for food purposes. I don't think it would work though.