PDA

View Full Version : should i vent????

SPILEDRIVER
02-22-2011, 06:28 AM
:cool::cool:im running tubeing into 5 and 15 gallon barrels with 5 to 7 taps per line/barrel,should my highest/last tap on each line be a vented spile? will it make a difference or not?ive been doing this for several years without venting with good success just wondering if the vent will be of any benefit?thanks

ejmaple
02-22-2011, 06:59 AM
no, venting will not help, haveing a closed line will cause a natrual vacuume.

Ausable
02-22-2011, 08:10 AM
:cool::cool:im running tubeing into 5 and 15 gallon barrels with 5 to 7 taps per line/barrel,should my highest/last tap on each line be a vented spile? will it make a difference or not?ive been doing this for several years without venting with good success just wondering if the vent will be of any benefit?thanks

Hey Spiledriver - A good question - Sounds like this is just a gravity feed setup -- no vacuum involved? If it works - why mess with it. Usually trees run slow enough - that the lines could burp themselves. - Then with the trees being under a slight pressure to cause the sap flow and the system is closed till the the sap hits the pail can't see why there would be a flow problem. If I did vent - would put a plastic tubing T in the highest line - invert the T and put about a 6" chunk of tube upward on the T -- this would be like a standpipe vent - keep from losing sap out the vent hole... Sounds goofy - right -- I do lots of goofy things -- sometimes they work --- Mike

michiganfarmer2
02-22-2011, 08:23 AM
the bennefit to venting that I can think of, if there is any, is if you keep your lines perfectly sloped, and perfectly tight so there is no droops for sap to sit in, then the lines will stay drained, and wont freeze and plug up so when the sap starts runing the next day, it doeant have to wait for the lines to thaw for the sap to run to the collection barrel

maple flats
02-22-2011, 08:51 AM