PDA

View Full Version : vac. question????????

cpmaple
02-20-2011, 06:44 PM
Putting in a small vac pump its 2.7cfm its only gonna be on 50 taps +/-. My question is do i have to have a releaser in that setup or can i hook my half inch main line right into the pump and discharge into my holding tank. Thanks for any response new to vac didnt plan on vac this season but fellow trader has a good price and dont want to pass it up thanks cpmaple

cpmaple
02-20-2011, 07:37 PM
Please put this in the right place i didnt notice the vacuum section thanks cpmaple

Littlesap
02-20-2011, 07:41 PM
This is my first year with vac, small scale, and I love it. When I was thinking it through last year, I looked at traditional set ups but went with something smaller and self contained.

With the traditional rig, you need the pump (sounds like you have that) which you can pick up on e-bay for $150-$300, a releaser - the smallest I could find was about $550 and then the tank. I had a tank but it would not accommodate a releaser so I would have had to pick up another one. Right when I was running these numbers and thinking I was stuck with gravity, I went to the CT maple conference and saw a set up that included an 85 gallon tank capable of withstanding pressure (eliminating the need for a releaser) and a vac pump for much less than the cost of a traditional set up. Now the limiting factor here is the tank... at 85 gallons, you can only put ~50 taps on it, else you'll be emptying it more than once a day but for me that worked perfectly.

Run your numbers, if you have the trees/landscape configuration to grow into a traditional set up then go that route. If not I can give you the name/number for the guy that built mine.

Brent
02-20-2011, 07:59 PM
I think if there was a vacuum pump out there that could handle sap without a releaser, we'd all be using them.

Don't even think about trying again.

collinsmapleman2012
02-20-2011, 08:06 PM