PDA

View Full Version : Newbie with a bunch of questions

RyanB
02-20-2011, 08:17 AM
Hey Guys...Total newbie here with a bunch of questions (hopefully you guys don't laugh).

Anyway, I have been boiling on my 14 acre property (all maples except for the 1 acre around the house) for the past 2 years. I have boiled on my wood stove with just pans on the stove and turkey fryer....so its time to upgrade to an arch and go from 20pans to 40 or 50!

I have already started my arch design 2x4'-5' and will have it ready in a week or so. My questions that I have really deal with the pan and different styles.

Here they are.....don't laugh!

#1-how are the drop flue pans working? is the syrup lighter than the sap so it floats up and doesn't settle in the dropped area's (just can't figure out how the syrup can be drawn off the pan if its sitting down 6" below the flat part of the pan. Again, I have only boiled with flat pans and I don't know much about the production end of things.

#2- with the divieded pans...is it just the in flow of sap on the one end that is pushing the syrup towards the other end of the maze (if you can call it that). or is it something with the desnity of the sap and syrup.

#3 My last question is probably really dumb, but I keep hearing about pre-heater pans, sap pans, flue pans and finishing pans. I was under the impression that most hobiests are using a preheater pan sitting ontop of the one large long pan thats on the arch with either a total flat bottom or dividers. Is this corect or are there 2 pans that are in direct contact with the heat/flames, and if so....what is an aproximate size for the pans on an arch of the size I am planning on. Also, what is the aproximate depth I should be looking at for the pans?

Thanks in advance and hopefully no one busts a gut laughing! I am a very experianced welder (tig, mig and stick) and am going to be building my own pans once I figure out which way I go.

RyanB

RyanB
02-21-2011, 08:44 AM