PDA

View Full Version : masport m5 ?

treefinder
02-15-2011, 04:57 PM
i know its probably been answered on here before but i'll ask again . i have a masport m5, what size motor will i need to run it ? i bought a 6.5 hp and it will turn it but barely and burn the belt or stall the engine and the belt was like a piano wire. the 6.5 hp is out of the question what about a 11hp. the sticker on the pump tells how to set the oiler and it only goes down to a 3hp and up to a 10hp electric motor.
\
heres a couple of pics so you can see my set up

NH Maplemaker
02-15-2011, 05:32 PM
I'm not an expert on masports. But, is this pump new to you? Is this with a load or with out? If it is with out a load or has been sitting around for awhile. You may need to take it apart and clean it and make sure every thing is free and working correctly! Than make sure it has good clean vacuum oil in it. Is there a possibility it has wrong weight oil in it? Vacuum pump don't like heave weight oil in cold weather and will turn very hard. Hope this helps. Jim L.

len
02-15-2011, 10:32 PM
Here's a pdf: http://www.schlueterco.com/pdfdownload/pdf/schlueter05.pdf that lists HP, parts, RPM (1100).. I'll guess that the pully arrangement there is a reduction for a 1750 rpm electric motor down to 1100 for the pump. I'm guessing that that IC engine rev's in the 3000 rpm range, so I'd be inclined to verify engine RPM, and adjust pulley arrangement as needed to run the pump as specified. You also might want to verify rotational direction of the pump.

maple flats
02-16-2011, 04:50 AM
You have a double pulley on the pump. I would think you should go about 1/2" or 1" smaller on the engine but use a double pulley, or 2, one with the set screws inward and the other outward. Then use Dayco belts with a cog design. These grip lots more, and the sidewalls are naked so that helps grip better too.