PDA

View Full Version : new shed style sugar house

slb
02-14-2011, 08:52 PM
We are building a new sugar house next to, along side, an exisiting pole barn. It is 11' x 18' and the height is 12' on the gable end of exisiting barn and 7' on outside edge. I don't want a copula on the roof because lots and lots of snow. Would two doors at peak on either end of building be enough to vent all the steam? It is a 2x6 evaporator. Any comments would be appreciated....Thanks.....

Bucket Head
02-14-2011, 09:09 PM
I'm no expert on steam venting, but it would seem that would equal the open area of a cupola if you had one. I saw a sugar shack once, of about the dimensions of yours, that had open ends under the roof peak at both ends. He did not have a problem with steam. You need to get the steam up and out before it condenses. If not, it "rains" in the shack. I've seen that too. If your feed tank is outside, and you can make the roof "low", that would leave the least amount of space for the steam to condense in.

Steve

cvmaple
02-14-2011, 09:12 PM
I don't have a cupola on my sugar shack (13 x 15), just no soffit and an open window hole above the evaporator (18 x 48) and I think it works OK. Your evaporator is bigger and that could change the game, though. A lot of people on here can't envision a sugar shack without a cupola. My 2 cents. cvmaple.

theschwarz1
02-16-2011, 08:16 AM
Could you put a fan in one of the ends blowing out?

slb
02-16-2011, 08:36 PM
Thanks for the replies, I'll set it up as planned with doors in each end see how that does. I'll let you know with the first boil..............

sapman
02-16-2011, 09:20 PM
I have a second floor, with four windows I open, but they are down a foot or so from the peak. That whole floor is a big steamroom when boiling! I need a better fan, hooked up to the the 7" roof jack which I do have, which doesn't exit enough steam to say so the way it is now.

michiganfarmer2
02-17-2011, 05:14 AM