PDA

View Full Version : Is 1 cup too little to end up with in the pan?

emu742
02-12-2011, 03:51 PM
I'd like to split the approx 10 gallons sap I'll be collecting into atleast 2 batches (a pint each), if not 4 - in case I ruin a few (this is my first time).

BUT...can I safely boil down syrup to just 1 cup - or will that be too thin of a layer in the pan and cause scorching?

Should I instead just plan on trying to do 5 gal at a time for a pint each?

len
02-12-2011, 04:15 PM
It can be accomplished. I did 3- 4 gallon batches of sap last year on a 12 x 20 ss hotel pan. The evaporator must be abolutely level both front to rear, as well as side to side. I used a stainless spatula to both skim the foam, as well as stir the pan. The fire must not be fed at a certain point to allow the coals to work when the pan is low. Another thing is you won't get it to syrup density, and will have to remove it, filter it, and then finish it inside on the kitchen stove.
Prior to finishing inside, the evaporator pan was filled partially with water, set back on the evaporator, then topped up with water, and allowed to heat up using the remaining coals (washed after each batch). These are some of the details of the process that I followed.

BTW, what are the specs of your equiptment that you'll be using?

maple flats
02-12-2011, 04:39 PM
Very risky but possible.

red maples
02-12-2011, 06:09 PM
Once you get closer to being done I would just bring it in and finish it on the stove ...Or.... just boil down to a resaonable amount that you can fit in your fridge and use that to sweeten your pan next time or once to get down to the same point in the next batch add in that gallon , 1/2 gallon what ever. This way you don't risk a scorched pan.

peacemaker
02-12-2011, 06:50 PM
yeah if your boiling in a qt pan

len
02-12-2011, 08:36 PM