PDA

View Full Version : Sugar maple or another maple

They Call Me Pete
02-11-2011, 10:19 AM
I always though this was a sugar maple but I was thumbing through a tree ID book and it described it differently :confused: Maybe I've been wrong all along :o Can ya tell I'm a noob :lol:

adk1
02-11-2011, 10:23 AM
Pretty much impossible to tell with that pic. need to get a closeup of the buds.

They Call Me Pete
02-11-2011, 10:55 AM
Here's some close ups. Stinking thing snapped off while trying to get a close up picture :mad:

adk1
02-11-2011, 11:00 AM
still cant tell, you need to take it in better resolution and closer to the buds. yo ucan email it to me if you woudl like

gmcooper
02-11-2011, 11:03 AM
Very hard to see much as the photos I'm seeing are very small. The first twig pic doesn't look like maple as I do not see paired branching. Looks more like alternate but very hard to see.

They Call Me Pete
02-11-2011, 11:31 AM
They are alternate. I'm assuming sugars are paired. Ihttp://i53.tinypic.com/sy008h.jpg

Toblerone
02-11-2011, 12:06 PM
If they are alternate, then it is not a maple of any sorts. Sometimes an opposite branching can look alternate if opposite twigs broke off or branches didn't develop. But an alternate branching shouldn't ever look opposite. So check other places on the tree to see if any are opposite. If none are, then this tree is not a maple.

The bark of the tree can be a dead giveaway too, although sometimes I confuse the bark of bitternut hickory with a maple. So a closeup post of the bark would help identify this tree too.

adk1
02-11-2011, 12:48 PM
To me the buds look liek a sugar maple. the stem should be brownish with dark brown/black buds.

Frank Ivy
02-11-2011, 01:12 PM
Clearly opposite - in my neck of the woods, that's either Ash or Maple. If it's maple, the terminal bud looks sugar, not red.