PDA

View Full Version : Need help with RO

Melody Bee Farms
02-10-2011, 08:32 AM
Hi I have unit I am looking at purchasing. It is a older Continental unit originally from a hospital. It has 4, 2.5 inch x 40 inch membranes is it worth the effort to try to revamp it to 3, 4x 40 inch membranes,is it even possible I am new to ro so any help/advice is appreciated
Josh

Bucket Head
02-10-2011, 11:33 PM
I'm no expert either, but here's my take. What does it have for pumps? The Leader Evaporator catalog has the pumps, membranes, amperage, etc. listed for their RO's. You should try and compare what they have to what the unit your looking at has. Your already considering swapping vessels an membranes. If the pumps you have won't cut it, you'll have to change them too. Then you'd be building one from the ground up, so to speak. There are a handfull of posts on here from guy's who have built their own small RO's. Take a peek at those. Quite a bit of info and they tell what pumps/components they used. You might want to go that route instead of getting this one and then completely dismantling it and basically starting over. You'll have to figure out what you have, what you might have to get, and what the cost will be to upgrade. It may, or may not be worth it. Good luck with it and keep us posted.

Steve

Dan W
02-11-2011, 05:53 AM
I have done the exact same thing. Continental RO from a hospital. Mine had 3 2.5x40 membranes. Talked with Joe ot Atlantic RO (910-457-9336) about the membranes and I replaced them with one 4x40 xle. It was cheaper to buy the canister and the membrane than 3 2.5 membranes. Seimens bought out Continental but they weren't much help with syrup questions. The pump according to the mfg. will do 250gph. Do you really think you need 3 4' membeanes? This is new to me this year and hope to get to use it sunday or monday-I'll let you know how it works.

green4310
02-11-2011, 10:32 AM
That most have been a fairly high Ps system.