PDA

View Full Version : New 10' x 16' sugar house

Eric in Kinburn
02-06-2011, 05:31 PM
I'm fairly new to this hobby. I've been boiling on my BBQ for the last 2 years and finally decided to get an evaporator and build a sugar shack. I spent most of last summer building it. Some finishing being completed this year, but it should be operational. I will do a test boil soon.

Thanks for looking.
Eric

whalems
02-06-2011, 06:06 PM
Very nice looking shack! That should serve you well for many seasons! Good Luck, Mike

cvmaple
02-06-2011, 07:31 PM
That is a good looking set-up. I have the same evaporator as you have. You should be very happy with it. I recommend you put arch board under your bricks. Post some more pictures when spring arrives. cvmaple

Eric in Kinburn
02-08-2011, 11:37 AM
Thanks for the comments guys. It will be nice to have a roof over my head this year. I still have a few more details to work on before the temperature is right to start tapping.

cvmaple - how do you like the evaporator? Do you have any tips/tricks on its operation? I already installed the firebricks so it's too late for the fire panels I think. Talking to D&G they didn't seem to think it was necessary for this small evaporator and said it was optional.

Cheers,
Eric

cvmaple
02-12-2011, 04:23 PM
Yeah, It probably is a bit of overkill to put archboard in the little D&G. I don't have any tips or tricks per se. I only made 8 gallons from 50 buckets. It was a poor year. You have to boil a lot of sap to get any amount of syrup out of it and this year I cut my fire wood shorter. About a foot long(all ash) What really made it jump last year was to stuff a handfull of elm brush in on top of the fire. That's all I can think of. How are you going to finish off your syrup?

cvmaple
02-12-2011, 04:36 PM