PDA

View Full Version : Tracks on tractor

twitch
02-03-2011, 07:31 PM
Any one ever put tracks on a four wheel drive tractor?

3rdgen.maple
02-03-2011, 09:57 PM
Most 4x4 tractors I know of it wouldnt work if you ran tracks in 4 wheel drive. The front wheels spin at a little faster rate than the back ones when locked in. If you ever ran one down the road in 4 wheel drive you will notice how it wears or cups the front tires as they are tearing up the treads as they turn faster and slip on the asphalt. Also Im no expert on tracks but exacally how would you turn the tractor that was designed to turn the front wheels versus locking up one side of the tracks to turn. I think you would end up with a bunch of ripped out gears in the front end.

Monster Maples
02-03-2011, 10:52 PM
Also Im no expert on tracks but exacally how would you turn the tractor that was designed to turn the front wheels versus locking up one side of the tracks to turn. .

I am no expert either by any means, but I think you lock the steering wheel in a fixed position. Two wheel drive should be fine with tracks. As for steering I believe you would use the individual wheel brakes. Steer it much like a dozer. Like I said, I don't know. But that would be the only way that I can think of. I am pretty sure those tracks are outrageous in price though.

I worked around some of the Cat Challenger's ( tractor's on tracks made by Cat) and those things are impressive. They would go down in the borrow pit with two pull pans behind them, regular scrapers couldn't go down because of the mud. Load up and go, no dozer pushing. Once out of the borrow pit, on a smooth haul road, 45 mph pulling the loaded pull pans. Awesome machines.

twobears1224
02-04-2011, 02:32 AM
kubota makes a tractor thats 4x4 but has tracks on the back.i saw one at my local dealer.

delbert

twitch
02-04-2011, 04:48 AM
i was thinking tracks on back and skis on front

nas
02-04-2011, 05:25 AM