PDA

View Full Version : Evaporator Design Help

kringvermont
05-07-2005, 08:48 AM
I,m looking for help and advice on plans for a 24" x 33" three section pan to fit on the old barrel arch my father-inlaw just gave me. I have found a person who make tig welded S.S pans. What I would like to end up with is a pan like the leader 1/2 pint, but would like to have it made with draw offs on both sides and with a float box(boxes) to be able to reverse flow so that down the road if I want I could use the pan in line with a flue pan on a 2x4 or 2x6 arch. I'm new at this sugaring bug and have used a 24"x24" flat pan on a cinder block arch with around 25 taps for the past 3 years making 4-5 gallons per year. I have access to a ton of really nice older trees with great southern exposure and for the time being just want move up to 35-40 taps and want to speed up my boiling time. Like I said I might want to have a flue pan made in the future and it would be nice to be able to use the 24"x33' as a syrup pan. Any and all advice would be great.
Thank You

WF MASON
05-08-2005, 05:07 AM
It would be hard to say down the road just what kind of flue pan you'd be connecting your new front pan to , raised or dropped , canadian or american made , so the point of putting extra work into it by adding float boxes now , I'd have them added when the time comes. Also when you reach that time to go bigger , if your pan has had a couple hot suppers(cooked) you might not want to use it then.
If the pan is a three section , your section width is 8'' less materal , four section is 6''wide- 4 sections x 6''wide = 24'' wide pan.
Use thin gauge stainless 20 or 22 ga.
Unless the barrel arch is in really good shape , really good , I'd have the pan made 36'' long to fit a six foot arch , and have your friend build a box arch to fit it. Good luck.

Maple Flats
05-08-2005, 06:54 AM
WF Mason is absolutely right. Follow his suggestions and you won't go wrong.

kringvermont
05-08-2005, 08:17 AM