PDA

View Full Version : Tubing Question

Thiems sugarshack
12-29-2010, 05:36 PM
This is my first year going to tubing.I am using 1/2 mainline and was wondering 1. What is the line called that goes from the tap to the 1/2 mainline.The short piece.How long should it be.I was thinking 2 feet.And the second question is how many taps is a 1/2 main line rated for i was thinking of 100. Any info is greatly appretiated. Thanks

Randy Brutkoski
12-29-2010, 05:47 PM
The 2 ft. piece from the tap is the drop line. Which goes into the lateral line which is also 5/16, which then goes into your 1/2 main. 100 taps should be fine 1/2 inch.

danno
12-29-2010, 09:37 PM
If your trees have any size to them, you may want to lengthen your drops a bit. I like 36" min. 2' is fine the first year or two, but as you are trying to tap the tree above and on the opposite side of your lateral, 2' becomes pretty short, pretty quick.

WESTVIRGINIAMAPLER
01-01-2011, 09:06 AM
Without vacuum, you can easily run 200 to 300 on a 1/2" mainline without any problems.

markct
01-01-2011, 08:39 PM
i like using 3/4 mainline for most runs, even with few taps, because you can use saddles instead of needing to cut the line and install a tee and a star, saddles are fast and cheap. there is one place i use half inch line that is running about 300 ft across a field to get to a cluster of 20 taps, there is no places that need to have lateral lines coming into the mainline except right at the end so it works very well that way

maple flats
01-02-2011, 06:11 AM
Of course Leader is selling tubing, but their catalog calls for 50 taps on a 1/2". This really depends on slope. With lots of slope some run almost 50 on a lateral, but no formal studies support that.