PDA

View Full Version : How do I run sap buckets in series?

jayka
12-27-2010, 06:17 AM
I've been syruping for 3 or 4 yrs. and would like to run 2 buckets in series. The tap line from the tree would go into the lid of the first bucket and I need to run a line from the side of this bucket, near the top to the lid of a second bucket below. My question is how do I secure the line in the upper side of the first bucket? What kind of glue? Would PVC glue work? Is there a better way?

whalems
12-27-2010, 07:07 AM
Why would you be running them in series? If you need more storage why not use a bigger bucket or barrel? Or run individual lines/taps to each bucket?

Jim Brown
12-27-2010, 07:30 AM
The series thing puzzles me also but if you wrap a rubber band around the tubing a number of times it won't pull back though the hole

my two cents
Jim

Ausable
12-27-2010, 07:44 AM
----Hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha --Better Not. Jay I use coffee cans and lids for sap pails and the neighbors drive by and stare and think I'm over the edge and tapping coffee trees. The only reason I'm still allowed to roam around - is that all the Institutions are full -- lol -- If I start hooking my coffee cans in series I'm sure they will make room for me -- but - thanks for the idea. Love the way your brain works and You will fit right in with most of us on this site...... Whether You tap in series or not - have a great year making maple in 2011 ----- Mike

maple connection
12-27-2010, 08:15 AM
I think your going to have alot of headaches trying to make it work in series.
Buy yourself a plastic 15,30 or 55 gallon barrell. Then you don't have to worry about them over flowing.

Ausable
12-27-2010, 08:47 AM