PDA

View Full Version : cdl-dallaire intens-o-fire evaporator question

rjochimsen
12-19-2010, 12:29 PM
First time poster. Unlike a lot of you, I cannot weld nor have any fabricating experience. I did have a few extra $ burning a hole in my pocket and so I purchased a new 3x12 evaporator. It sounded like a neat toy--can burn up to 40% less wood with no soot or cresote buildup.
I've been syruping since 1988 and have had a couple of evaporators but when this evaporator was delivered, the size of the fire box blew me away. I'm thinking its big enough to double as a crematorium during the summer (I'm thinking extra income here). :lol:
The owners manuel is vague in that it mentions to use small diameter wood but the only thing on length was "short" for a small evaporator, "longer" the bigger the machine. I was unable to find an e-mail contact for "maple pro"
My question: Does anyone out there know or had any experience on the length of wood one can use.

Rance Jochimsen
www.onions@tds.net

maple flats
12-19-2010, 03:40 PM
Whatever the fire box length less about 6" is a good rule of thumb. However, my firebox is 29" and I only burn 21", works good too.

Sugarmaker
12-19-2010, 03:45 PM
Welcome to the trader.
Yes at least 6 inches shorter. On our drop flue with 5 foot to the flues we rarley use any thing longer than 2 feet (pallet wood) We could use 3 to 4 feet lengths but we burn what we have and just push it back a little.
Chris

Thad Blaisdell
12-19-2010, 04:06 PM
You can call them at CDL..... 802 527-0000

Squaredeal
12-20-2010, 04:25 PM
Call or email Serge @ CDL in St. Lazare.
He in the one who can answer all questions about the intense-o- fire.
I have one and it has taken me six very frustrating years of asking questions around in CDL to find someone who can answer my questions -he is the one.
I hope that yours came with a thermocouple to gauge firebox temperature -if it didn't ask them to set you up -it is necessary to get anywhere near the performance they claim.