PDA

View Full Version : chickens

red maples
12-12-2010, 04:53 AM
OK sorry for the non maple but this is place for it. I looked around the internet but couldn't find my answer. I am new to keeping chickens had some as a kid but don't remember what we did in the winter.

For the winter months how do you care for your chickens. I know alot of you guys are farmers or at least have chickens and have harsher winters weather than me. I have mostly NH reds, a few mixed breeds that I don't know, a blue laced red wyandotte rooster. most of them are hearty ones for bad climates.

So they say keep the coop ventilated to release humidity but not drafty? Insulated or no? heat lamp or no? Feed? they recommend higher amounts of corn and winter bird seed sunflower seeds? what is the lowest temps a chicken can go outside? and slightly warm un frozen water. thanks for your help.

lew
12-12-2010, 06:34 AM
Brad,